My Antique Roadshow Wanna-be

I love to watch Antique Roadshow. It’s thrilling to see how some things that look like junk can be so valuable. If there’s any item in my house that I could take to the show, this would be it:
ship1.jpg
John’s mother bought this at a yard sale over 20 years ago. While I have no idea what she paid for it, I do know her bargain-hunting abilities well enough to know it probably wasn’t much. For our first years together, John and I had this tossed in a storage bin, ignored and neglected. Several moves later, we decided to hang it up. After we read “Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea” by Gary Kinder about a side-wheel steamer that wrecked, we started to actually like the painting. The more we liked it, the more attention we paid to it. Come to find out, this painting is very old. It was painted in 1893. It features a side-wheel steamship called the S.S. Adelaide from the Great Eastern Railway Company. Isn’t she pretty?
ship21.jpg
It’s signed and dated by the painter though I can not read his/her name. It has a tag from a local department store with the date it was painted on it. Did department stores used to sell fine art?
ship3.jpgship4.jpg
Even if this is a total fake, it’s beautiful to us and, besides, it’s the only thing in our house that even remotely resembles “real” art. It is certainly worth more than the pittance for which it was bought.

1 Comment »

  1. Megan said

    The name of the artist looks like A J Jansen to me.
    I did a quick google search and by gosh i think I was right.. http://www.artnet.com/artist/636603/a-j-jansen.html

    looks like similar paintings of his sell for around $900. Not too shabby.🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

