Pie Day

My children have been asking for pies lately. I made quiche for dinner Monday night but, no surprise, that didn’t count. Finally, I’ve made some REAL pies.

Strawberry-Rhubarb, Strawberry-Raspberry-Rhubarb, and “Bluebarb.” The top one is destined for my father-in-law who waxes nostalgic about his mother’s pies. I’m hoping a few bites of mine will bring back the taste of spring so fondly remembered from his childhood.

The recipe is surprisingly simple —- 4 cups of chopped fruit (I used 2 C rhubarb, 2 C berries), 1 cup of sugar, 2 T of cornstarch and a dash of salt. Mix well and put in your preferred pie crust (I made my own but a roll-out one would be very easy). Dot with butter, bake at 400 for 15 mins, then reduce to 350 for another 30-40 minutes.

1 Comment »

  1. Adlyn said

    they look delicious! I’m making an apple pie this weekend for the first time in my life (I’m new to the whole biblical womanhood/femininity thing) hope to blog about soon.

    http://www.adlynmorrison.blogspot.com/

    Have a nice time eating you pies! LOL!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

