Making Cheese

I tried my hand at cheesemaking this week. While I’ve made some soft cheese in the past, I’ve never tried any that requires rennet and much handling. The mozzarella was a success — fun and easy to make. And oh-so-delicious. For dinner we made pizza with the results –the dough was made with the leftover whey from making the cheese, the basil is from our garden.

I’ll be making more mozzarella. Alas, my attempt at fresh goat’s cheese was a dismal failure leading to a smelly pot of uncoagulated goat’s milk. Sigh.

1 Comment »

  1. seemommysew said

    That’s so cool! I would love to be able to do this!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

