Trash Picked Treasure

This chair was part of last-weeks bonanza.
rocker
It doesn’t look like much but has the added feature of being a rocking chair. There are springs beneath the chair seat and they are firm and in good shape. Honestly, I wasn’t planning to keep this piece since it was not my style. But Mojo saw something in it and begged to keep it. It became our joint project. The first step was attacking the old upholstery. I stripped it off and re-stretched the seat webbing. You can see how saggy it is in this photo:
rocker2
Then, I cracked out the black paint. After a few coats and few days, I took Mojo fabric shopping. She pounced on some blue ball fringe and then found fabric to match. I did the sewing and Mojo helped with the stapling. In the end we have this:
rocker3
A chair that is way nicer than I would have imagined. When it was all done, my daughter and I just looked at each other and nodded. What a team we make.

3 Comments »

  1. Nancy said

    The before picture reminds me of a chair I took home from my grandmother’s house after she died. Might have been the same fabric. Looks like it used to have a ruffle below the cushion too. I’m glad you gave it a new life. When are you coming here to renovate my furniture????

  2. erin said

    Way to go, it looks awesome!!!

  3. […] It’s the perfect companion for my Trash-picked Rocking Chair. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

