Candy

This week is my candy-making week. Meaning, I’m intending to make lots of holiday candy. We’ll see how much I actually get done. I started with candied citrus. I saw the recipe in the latest Martha Stewart magazine and it sounded so good. Since I love grapefruit, that is what I made. Candied grapefruit peel.

gfcandy

It looks really good. Unfortunately, it tastes HORRIBLE. Like bitter old grapefruit peel. I don’t know what I was thinking, I mean it IS grapefruit peel. I guess I thought that the addition of 4 cups of sugar, and boiling it for an hour would transform it into something tasty. Not.

Here’s hoping my next confectionary adventure is not such a flop.

2 Comments »

  1. Megan said

    That sounds bitter and gross! :blech: Good luck on your next adventure!

  2. Nancy said

    Candied ginger is pretty good.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

