Trash-picked Treasures

John found this chair earlier this week.
slchair1

I wondered why he brought it home. It’s pink and not my style. He claimed it was cozy and made me sit in it. It was firm and comfy with a rocker and swivel base (so retro!). Still, not my style. But, like every thing else that gets brought into this home, I started to think about how to redo it so it would fit. It just so happened that I had 10 yards of butter-yellow cotton duck in my sewing room waiting for a project.

First, I padded the chair to add some extra shaping. Also, it adds another layer between me and that hideous pink upholstery.
slchair2

Next, out came the fabric. And out came my little “helper” who likes to be right in the middle of my projects.
slchair3

Scissors, chalk and pins were all it took to get the fit. I sewed it in spurts over a few days. The result:

slchair4

We seem to be finding lots of furniture lately. Is this the redecorating time of year? It certainly is in our home.

4 Comments »

  1. Megan said

    Your house is going to e busting out of the seams soon with howmuch firniture you are finding! LOL Good job. šŸ™‚

  2. Super Mom said

    How pretty your recovered chair turned out. It’s such a beautiful sunny yellow.

  3. shannon said

    it lokos great- but was your house empty before or are you regifting all the old furniture??? šŸ™‚

  4. BarbaraLee said

    You are talented. To give a chair a face lift is still something I haven’t been able to figure out.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

