Going Green

I am on a quest to get more veggies into my children. Sure, they’ll eat the ones I serve at dinner but it is more of a chore than a pleasure for them. Enter my latest kitchen craze — green smoothies.

greensmooth

At first, I masked the veggies hidden in them with bright berry colors (oj, banana, handful of raw spinach & frozen berries). A few days into drinking them, I told the kids what was in them. Now, they try to guess what my ingredients are as they swill them down. Yesterday’s had 4 cups spinach, 4 kiwis, 2 bananas, 1/2 a cucumber, a green apple and some limeade. It tasted delicious!!

Since I’ve been serving these smoothies, I’ve noticed their overall fruit & veggie consumption has gone up. Two nights ago, both Mojo and Oli were BEGGING me to eat handfuls of spinach (raw) with dinner. Uh, OK. Eat away.

Each morning brings a different combination and my kids claim they taste delicious! To me, they taste like victory.

1 Comment »

  1. mamaholler said

    This is a great idea.

    Mmmmm… it looks great too.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

