Lamby

When we moved here 8 years ago, my mother-in-law gave me her lamb cake mold. I am a lover of old cookbooks, kitchen implements and laborious cooking techniques. Imagine my thrill at getting my mitts on this! Each Easter, I put it to use and bring a cake to the family gathering. This year was my best one yet!

lamby

I’ve learned a few tricks through the years of baking these. If using a box mix reduce the water by half —it makes a firmer cake. My kids like strawberry or red velvet cake inside — nothing like slicing into this and seeing red! (yes, we are twisted!). Coat every nook and cranny of the mold with shortening and flour to prevent sticking. Tie the molds together or the cake will not rise to fill the face of the lamb. The cake is easier to frost when frozen so plan ahead. Piping icing through a large star tip is the way to go! I would recommend using disposable decorator bags. I tried to cheat with a ziplock bag but it kept bursting which necessitated much finger licking and extra calorie consumption. ๐Ÿ™‚

My kids fight over who cuts off the head each year. This year DNA got to do it since it was his birthday as well. To see them go at it with a large knife and much glee is, well, kind of barbaric. My 2 yo niece almost cried when they beheaded the creature. She quickly recovered when DNA placed half the head and a fork in front of her. She dove into the icing and demanded more. Yes, I foresee yet another young barbarian fighting for the first slice of cake next year!

3 Comments »

  1. Nancy said

    Those eyes are kind of creepy & large & pupil-free. So innocent of the fate that awaits him (her?) .We enjoyed cutting off our our dark chocolate bunny’s head with a knife and smashing his body with a hammer, so I guess we are also a bit twisted on this holiday. Why do we make food that looks like animals and expect children to enjoy eating it?

  2. Megan said

    My mom made a lamb cake this year. She inherited the mold from her mom. I may be forwarding your tips to her.๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Christy said

    It’s beautiful! You should post this stuff out on Facebook as well.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

