Trash Picked Treasures

I love this chair. I’ve had it for a few years (yes, another John find). I wish the seat wasn’t so ripped up because I am crazy about the orange upholstery. For years, it sat in our bedroom with a sheepskin covering the tattered seat.

I decided last week to give the chair new life in our family room. I’ve been long considering reupholstering it but I’m daunted by the tufted back. I took the easy way out and made a slipcover. For $9 worth of fabric & $3 of twill tape, the chair is transformed.

Maybe one day I’ll be brave (or experienced) enough to do this chair justice. In the meantime, I think I’m going to like it like this.

11 Comments »

  1. Julie said

    Fabulous!

  2. Treasia said

    I love the fabric. It turned out gorgeous. Well done.

  3. Dee said

    I love this! You should really give reupholstering a try! It isn’t that hard. I bought a book and just did it step by step. Love the fabric you chose! Cute!!

  4. Maureen said

    You’re a brave soul – it looks awesome!

  5. I love it! I like the style of the slipcover.

    Michelle

  6. Kat said

    Great find! I love that fabric and the cute ties you used on the front! I can’t even imagine finding something in the trash and turning it into something so beautiful! Wonderful!

    Kat🙂

  7. Keri said

    Wowza! I love it with the slipcover! Love the fabric and love the finished look. Nice job.

  8. OK, big wow from me. I love anything blue & white and this fabric is gorgeous on that chair. I like how the ties make the elegant frame a little more casual. I also can’t believe that was a trash pick! It’s crazy what some people will throw away. Wonderful save and you have done it justice in my eyes.

  9. Maryann said

    I think you did a great job!

  10. tammy said

    I think you did a great professional job.
    Gorgeous.
    tammy

  11. John said

    That looks great! The blue and white fabric really fits that style of chair.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

